Brisbane Boys’ College (BBC) Finishes Strong at 2023 Queensland State Championships Regatta

The recently held Queensland State Championships Regatta saw the Brisbane Boys’ College staging a successful campaign, scoring three Golds, a Silver and a Bronze medal.

It’s a very promising rowing season this year indeed for BBC Rowing as it successfully finished its first official races this season. At the Queensland State Championships, the school entered two Open Eights, two Year 11 Eights, two Year 10 Quads and a Year 10 single scull. 

The action-packed weekend at Lake Wyaralong last 20 – 22 January 2023 saw 647 athletes participating with 772 entries racing in 124 races. It was the largest turnout of competitors at the Queensland State Championships Regatta so far.

The school’s Open First VIII successfully took out the U19 and U21 8+ categories before taking a second-place finish in the Open Men’s 8+ Final by beating Uni of Qld which finished fourth and third placer Toowong club. Private club KAND took home the Gold medal.

Meanwhile, Henry Wake won the Gold in the Mens Under 16 Single Scull whilst Year 10 First Quad took home the Bronze.

2023 Queensland State Championships Regatta

Championship Mens Under 17 Quad Scull (Coxed) – Final

  1. Gregory Terrace (Setter,Thomas,Clancy,Alford,c:Sheehan
  2. Gregory Terrace (Ross,Clifford-Thorpe,Townsend,McGhie,c:Macklin)
  3. Brisbane Boys 1 (Pohio,Deal,Bromell,Thynne,c:Geldard) 

Championship Mens Under 21 Eight – Final

  1. Brisbane Boys (Crook,Granzin,Rubens,Thynne,Owen,Cashman,Cashman,Stevens,c:Palmer)
  2. Commercial/Griffith Uni
  3. Brisbane Grammar (Nicholson,Houghton,Weightman,Jackson,Roe,Morrissey,Fidler,Forbes,c:Reck)

Championship Mens Under 19 Eight – Final

  1. Brisbane Boys (Crook,Granzin,Rubens,Thynne,Owen,Cashman,Cashman,Stevens,c:Palmer)
  2. Brisbane Grammar 1
  3. Gregory Terrace

Championship Mens Under 16 Single Scull – Final

  1. Brisbane Boys (Henry Wake)
  2. Gregory Terrace (Hamish Setter)
  3. Rockhampton Fitzroy (Tristram Vesey)

Championship Mens Eight -Final

  1. Kand
  2. Brisbane Boys 
  3. Toowong

Big congratulations to the boys and their coaches!

Published 5-February-2023